Tags

, , , , ,

love letters

Today was best day ever. I came back from my local bookstore holding one of the most romantic collections I have ever had. It fascinates me to read old love letters, especially when written from prominent personalities having left their own chapter in history, whether because of their leadership skills in war conditions like Napoleon Bonaparte, their witty writing and contribution in literature like Oscar Wilde or their momentous influence in music such as Beethoven.

One can meet a different side of these important personalities in the collection Letters of Great Men, which includes love letters of persons such as Napoleon, Beethoven, Horatio Nelson, Oscar Wilde, John Keats and Lord Byron and many more to their love interest.

Edited by Ursula Doyle and published by Macmillan in 2008.

Edited by Ursula Doyle and published by Macmillan in 2008.

But it isn’t only about becoming familiar with the sentimental side of these men, thus getting to know them better, but also observing how they express their love in this old-fashioned way not everyone uses anymore. I mean, we have emails, text messaging and any other technological mean which, like the editor of the book Ursula Doyle says, are death to romance. A letter is always more personal, you see the handwriting and it’s like you smell the fragrance of the other person. A letter has an identity.

love-letter-design

I’m halfway the book already, reading it with streams of tears flowing from my eyes, not only for this romance I feel like I will never meet because I live in a different period, but also because some of the letters are overflown with love, making my in-love heart melting. You see, I love my Sweetest Spring – the Prince of my heart – so much, that when I read these letters, I feel like it’s me writing them for him ❤

Oh, love! We all have a poet inside us waiting to come out when we fall in love!

The Fisherman and the Syren (1856–1858) by Frederic Leighton.

The Fisherman and the Syren (1856–1858) by Frederic Leighton.

Due to copyrighting purposes, I will share with you three small love letters of the book, because I think I’ll be in trouble if I share them all! But if you like them so much, you can find this one-of-a-kind nostalgic book here.


King Henry VIII

(1491-1547)

king henry viii

King Henry VIII first met with Anne Boleyn in 1526, while he was still married to Katherine of Aragon, his first wife. Henry VIII became obsessed with Anne and was determined to marry her, even when Anne refused to become his mistress. After several years of continuous struggling and turmoil, they were married in January 1533 and Anne gave birth to a daughter, Elizabeth I. Unfortunately, their story didn’t have a happy ending, as Anne was charged with infidelity with several men, including her own brother ! As a result, she was decapitated in the Tower of London.

Here is a letter to her, full of words that made my heart melt. I mean, SIGH.

to anne boleyn


Lord Byron

(1788-1824)

lord byron

Lord Byron, my romantic hero and one of my poet crushes, had many affairs, including married Lady Caroline Lamb and also married Countess Guiccioli. Lord Byron met with Contessa Guiccioli in Venice at the home of Countess Albrizzi in 1819. Teresa had married three days earlier Count Guiccioli.

THIS sentence: But I more than love you and cannot cease to love you. Just how I feel for my Sweetest Spring ❤

to countess guiccioli


Honoré de Balzac

(1799-1850)

honore-de-balzac

One of the most influential writers in history, Balzac’s life was a chaos. He studied law but eventually devoted his life to literature, living in a Parisian garret almost starving and making ends meet by writing sensational novels. La Comedie Humaine is considered his masterpiece work, a multi-volume collection of novels that illustrate how French society was in the period of July Monarchy (1815–1848) and Restoration (1814-1830). Balzac is also considered the father of realism in literature.

Balzac started exchanging letters with also married Countess Ewelina Hanska. Their correspondence went on for 17 years and after the death of her husband, Ewelina and Balzac travelled together around Europe. They were married in March 15, 1850 and Balzac died the same year in August 19.

It reminds me of the song If it Takes Forever, I Will Wait For You, because true love endures, hopes and awaits, never demands or expects anything in return…

to countess ewelina


Do you feel like romance is gone nowadays with all this technology around us? Do you miss the old-fashioned ways of communication? Do you write love letters to your loved one? Leave me a comment 🙂

